PhoneGnome Home

[Insert disclaimer here] Sometimes I hear about companies
promising things that I wonder how they could possibly do
what they promise and still stay in business. This is one of
those times to take what they are saying with a grain of salt
and know that I have not bought, used, or seen what they are
selling.

But as a public service for those intrepid souls who like
to live on the bleeding edge comes PhoneGnome.
They say, as I understand it, you can make PhoneGnome to
PhoneGnome calls for free, but if you call a non-PhoneGnome
number, you may have to pay what they call “low Internet
calling rates” from whichever one of three different services
you choose to sign-up with.

Note, as I understand it, you don’t pay a fee to
PhoneGnome, only to the service you sign-up with. Whether
this is cheaper than any of the other voice over IP options
available I don’t know. But from what I can see, the main
advantage is that you use your “normal” (land line) phone to
make the calls but have them routed via whichever is the
cheapest way to get there.

Note also that although PhoneGnome may not have a direct
monthly cost, you must buy their $119 USD hardware (I guess
you would call it a modem although I’m not sure what they
call it). YMMV.

Comments are closed.