Daily Archives: 8 February 2006

Antec Fusion, Revisted

Okay, so the Antec Fusion case isn’t a replacement for
their Aria case. At least, it doesn’t look like a direct
replacement (see yesterday’s updated post for a picture).

Unless Antec decides to update the Aria, which has a
PSU
rated at only 300 Watts, I will have to look for a
“mini-tower” [Isn’t mini-tower like saying “jumbo shrimp”?
But I digress – ed.) case instead. I can get a mini-tower for
about $30USD and add my own PSU (probably an Antec Neo 430)
for less than the cost of the Aria. The downside would be
that a mini-tower is larger than the Aria. Sigh.

Although I have some time before I need to decide on which
case to get, I will need to do so, soon.

Apple 1GB nano iPod Announced

In other news, Apple announced the availability of a
1GB nano iPod
. The new iPod is listed as being able to hold about 240
songs while costing only $149USD ($50 less than the $199 nano
2GB model).

But, there are downsides to getting an iPod. Two-hundred
and forty songs are less than what I have in my collection
but, realistically, I don’t need to have access to every song
all the time and can always swap things in and out. That
said, it’s not convenient to do so.

Secondly, there isn’t an iTunes client for Linux and iPods
only work with iTunes. So, I would have to use my laptop,
which still runs Windows XP, to run iTunes. Again, this is
not very convenient.

Lastly, there’s the problems with a non user-replaceable
battery and all the scratches to the case and screen that
people have been reporting.

Still, it is very cool. This weekend, if the local Apple
store has one in black, I think I’ll get one. Or not. We’ll
see.


Aloha!