AVG for Linux Update: Dancing with Dazuko

Well, I almost got to a point where I could try
to install the AVG anti-virus software I posted about
yesterday (skip this post now if you don’t want a heavy dose
of cynacism). Unfortunately, as with many *nix programs, AVG
requires certain libraries and in this case, a kernel module.
This is understandable and perfectly logical in the reality
distortion *nix world. And as far as I can tell, I have all
the required libraries.

The problem I have is getting the Dazuko kernel module
to compile. What is the Dazuko module and why do I need it?
As the Dazuko site says, Dazuko is “A common interface across
all platforms…for 3rd party file access control. With such
an interface, focus could be redirected from OS hacking to
solving real problems.” In this case, AVG would apparently
use the interface to provide real-time (as opposed to Sjon
time) on file access anti-virus scanning. This is a good
thing since most command line scanners do not do on access
scanning (which means they can detect that you have been
infected, but not necessarily keep you from getting infected
in the first place unless you stop to scan all new files as
they come in).

But getting back to my problems. I keep getting errors
from the installer saying it can’t find the kernel source
code, it did find the kernel source code but it’s not
configured, and/or it can’t find the kernel headers. Since
Xandros, like many distributions, give you the kernel in
binary form, and assume you will never, ever, compile a
program much less the kernel since *sips some kool-aid* they
provide everything you need, it’s difficult, but I don’t
think impossible, to configure the kernel source to reflect
the compiled binary. Maybe. If you face in the right
direction and chant the magic phrase: [deleted due to
national security]. Unfortunately, my BS detector was set
very low yesterday so I said, forgedaboutit. Maybe someday
I’ll take a look at how I can get the Dazuko module compiled.
Until then, I’ll use F-Prot.

Comments are closed.