Part 2 of 4 – Dell Insprion 1150 Upgrades Phase II

The new Hitachi hard drive and copy of Windows Vista Home Basic for my Dell Inspiron 1150 laptop came in yesterday. So last night I deleted unneeded files and backed up what I wanted to save. I then wiped the data volume (I always partition my drives to separate the programs from the data) five times using the shredding utility that is included with Spybot Search and Destroy.

Tonight I’ll remove the old drive and install the new. It is interesting to see that the drive is accessed by removing the cover
for the PCMCIA slot. I guess there’s not a lot of room in a laptop so you have to double up like this. But I wonder if it is a good idea to place the drive, which gets hot when running, next to the PCMCIA slot, which also can get hot when a card is in operation.

In any case, I’ll work on it and see if things go well [as if that could ever happen – ed.]

Aloha

Leave a Reply

