Xandros Desktop Professional 4 3-D Problem

Sorry I haven’t posted for awhile but I’ve been very busy the last couple of days. Presently I’m involved with monitoring/writing testimony for one of the Judiciary’s bills, I attend all of the Hawaii Commission on Salaries meetings (as well as provide information, as requested), and am working with the National Center for State Courts on our continuing evaluation of the Hawaii Drug Courts. This is in addition to the regular stuff that I have to do on a daily basis.

Add to that mix a problem with Xandros Desktop Professional 4 GNU/Linux. Last week, I installed, but did not run the 3-D desktop module. As I understand it, all the kewl kidz are playing with this and I wanted to take a look. Although I had installed it, I hadn’t had the time to actually try it. In fact, I still haven’t tried it. But I am getting ahead of myself.

I guess, even though I’ve rebooted multiple times over the last week, yesterday morning Xandros decided it wasn’t going to finish booting and just locked up at the screen that gives the KDE status (it stopped at “KDE is up and running.”).

Fortunately, [pauses and pulls on flameproof suit], I dual boot Windows and keep most of my in-progress files on a flash drive or on our network drive. Hence, rather than spend time trying to figure out how to recover, I just booted into Windows and got to work. After lunch, when I had a few minutes, I rebooted using the Xandros install disk to see if it contained anything helpful to solving the problem. Unfortunately, not being a Linux guru, I didn’t find anything that could automatically fix the this.

Yes, I tried using the recovery console but that is a command prompt running in memory. If you want to access the hard drive, you must manually mount it. Even after that, there wouldn’t have been much that I could have done other than, perhaps, run apt-get from the command line and try to uninstall the 3-d module that way.

Just for kicks, I booted off of a old Mephis GNU/Linux CD I had laying around and was able to use that, and the KDE environment it creates, to mount the drive. All the data was still there and readable so I knew I could copy off what I needed should it come to that.

Fortunately, I decided to reboot and take advantage of one of the options Xandros give when booting. Namely, boot in video safe mode. This got me into the KDE desktop and I was able to run Xandros Network to remove the 3-d module.

So far, crossing fingers and toes, all seems well.

Aloha

Leave a Reply

