Fans Fawn Over Ubuntu/Kubuntu 7.04

For the two of you out there who live under a rock, Ubuntu/Kubuntu 7.04 went out the door today. I won’t link to the sites because they are being hammered by the ThunderingHordes as they suck up the bytes at the trough. But if you wait for awhile, I’m sure you can eventually get through.

From what I understand, one of the new features is a Windows migration tool. This is great if you dual boot with Windows. But what I wish it had is a Ubuntu upgrade tool (and had drivers for wireless products – ed.). That would be more useful to me since I have to do a clean install, that is backup my home directory then format the drive, then install. I have to do that because no distribution that I know of really does as good a job as Windows does in upgrading (not that MS is all that great, either). That said, Ubuntu/Kubuntu is probably state of the Linux art right now.

4/23/07 UPDATE: As it turns out, Ubuntu/Kubuntu does include an upgrade utility. It seems to work well for applications installed from the official UbuntuKubuntu sources. However, if you got stuff from other places, you are on your own. In that case, you may need to re-down load and installe these applications. But at least my data still seems to be okay,

Aloha

Leave a Reply

