Dell XPS M1330

Although I could use another desktop PC, and will probably build one eventually (I already have the case and will be getting the Intel P35-based motherboard soon) higher on my priority list is a replacement for my aging Dell laptop. But this time around, I want something lighter.

Although there are worse things to do than carrying around an eight pound laptop, I wanted something four pounds or less. I’m getting too old to be lifting weights.

Unfortunately, it seems the lighter the laptop, the more expensive it is (along with compromises in battery life, screen and keyboard size, and optical drives). In the past, when I looked at a Dell or Sony, there didn’t seem to be a way to get something that could actually do work for under $2,500.

Until now. Dell has come out with its XPS M1330. The M1330, configured how I want it with an Intel Core 2 Duo T7300 2.0 GHz processor, 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running at 7,200 RPM, 128 MB NVIDIA GeForce Go 8400M GS video, 13.3 inch LED backlit screen, slot-loading DVD burner, three year warranty with next business day on site service, and weighing 3.97 lbs (1.8 kg), goes for $2,271.

However, much like the build time for the Apple MacBook Pro, there is a four week wait to get one.

Speaking of Apple, I’m still waiting for the long rumored but not yet seen ultra-portable laptop. I can wait until the Christmas season (the traditional time to sell new products), but I won’t wait much past then.

But one way or another, I hope to have a replacement laptop by the end of the year. I just don’t know whether it will have the Dell, Apple, or Sony logo on it.

Aloha!

One response to “Dell XPS M1330

  1. Have read good things about the M1330, was thinking of getting one myself at some point (by the time it’ll probably be an old model). One thing I did read, that makes sense is not to go for the 9 cell battery… adds life but also size and weight.

Leave a Reply

