Dell XPS M1330 Arrives, Has a Problem

My Dell XPS M1330 laptop came in yesterday. I haven’t had the time to take a careful look at it yet but I do have some quick first impressions.

It is plenty small and light enough to comfortably carry for extended periods.

It is fast enough to do the work I need to do.

The exterior, although in a flat black, shows fingerprints.

The LED backlit screen is gorgeous. Colors are bright. Text is sharp. However, if there are strong light sources in back of the user, there may be reflections.

There are five rubber foot pads. Unfortunately, not all five contact the desk at the same time. In other words, the laptop rocks back and forth on the diagonal. This is extremely annoying. I have contacted Tech Support and they say it is the palmrest. I dunno but I wish Dell quality control would check this kind of problem prior to shipping. In any case, they will send someone to replace the palmrest when the part is available. I should note that I requested the support via email and that it took a little over 10 minutes to send the email, get a reply, and confirm the problem. In my book, that’s an excellent turnaround on email. I can only hope the palmrest is the problem, replacing it will fix it, and that I don’t have to wait weeks for the replacement. More when I know more.

Even with 3GB of RAM, a 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo, and a 7,200 RPM drive, it seems Windows Vista Home Premium runs slower than XP Pro.

So far, I’m liking this laptop and I’m liking Dell support even more. For those waiting, Dell has decreased the price by increasing the discount and increased the speed to the 2.2GHz. If I had waited one week, I could have gotten the faster processor for about $100 less than I paid for the 2.0. I wonder if Dell has price protection? YMMV. Insert disclaimer here.

Aloha!

Update

Please follow this link for an update.

2 responses to “Dell XPS M1330 Arrives, Has a Problem

  1. Noticed that The Register just published a review of the laptop here: http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2008/01/23/review_dell_xps_m1330/ . They seemed to like it. Their verdict: “This portable powerhouse knocks the life out of rivals with its blend of performance, quality and price.”

  2. Vista is a lot slower than XP. Even after throwing out the nice eye-candy interface foam there remains a small but noticeable speed difference. The interface gives the impression of thinking it over before executing a request.
    In NT2K when you click a button you see it go down but you don’t see it come up again, the action happens. With Vista you click and you see the button go down and come up and then the action happens. Not a big difference but it’s there.

Leave a Reply

