Dell Support Sucks IV

There isn’t much new on the Dell horror story. The three boxes (one each laptop and one accessories) are on the way back to Dell. I assume they will hit me with all kinds of re-stocking fees but it will be worth it to be free of Dell’s support system.

That’s not to say I still don’t love the XPS M1330. For the short time I used it, it confirmed that, aside from the physical defect, it is the best light weight laptop there is. Period. Its combination of speed (CPU and drives), beautiful LED backlit screen, and general design cannot be beat (including the Apple Air). It’s not for nothing that it won PC Magazine’s Editors’ Choice. Their review called the M1330 a “breakthrough improvement” and I agree with that 100 percent.

Still, all of that went down the tubes when my first laptop had an obvious warped frame/case. I mean, open the laptop and start typing and it would begin rocking back and forth. There is no excuse for shipping something like that. Add to that the problem of shipping a replacement laptop that was different from my first one and things just go down hill even faster than they were. Cap that with the offer of a $100 credit, only after I began the refund process and Dell heaped insult onto injury.

I assume the boxes should make it back to Dell sometime late this week. When I know how the refund process works out I’ll let you know. But for now, I’m now looking for something else that meets my criteria for a light weight business class laptop (i.e., 2.0GHz CPU, 13-inch LED backlit screen, at least 5,400RPM hard drive and preferably a 7,200, weighing around four pounds, and costing less than $2,000).

I realize that there may not be anything that meets this criteria, other than the XPS M1330. If so, I guess I’ll just wait until there is. YMMV. Insert disclaimer here.

Aloha!

Update

Please follow this link for an update.

4 responses to “Dell Support Sucks IV

  1. If it wasn’t for the 13 inch screen, the Thinkpad X61 might be a good option.

  2. Mmm… yes. I was going to say that I’ve always found Lenovo to be good quality at an excellent price – solid value. Another possibility is Acer – rock solid with brilliant innovation in some of their products (bought out the former Texas Instruments laptop operation, and built on it from there). I actually worked on one model that had touch screen, handwriting recognition, OCR, voice recognition, built-in microphone. I’ve seen fair prices on some of their basic models. However, that’s my experience in Australia – you’d need to check what’s what in the far far far western USA.

  3. Thanks to both commenters for the suggestions. I’ve used the old IBM branded laptops (now Lenovo) and found them well built, but heavy. I haven’t had any experience with Acer.

    Still, I will take a look at what each has and see if there is something that fits my requirements.

    Aloha – Dan

  4. Acer are good notebooks.
    I don’t know the TravelMate range, they are more business oriented. But I have an Aspire myself. And my brother just bought his second Aspire. They are good but not very beer-resistant 🙂 Well actualy the beer-baptised one still works but the keyboard is not up to standard anymore and, after four years he was looking for a new ona anyway.
    I cannot coment on the support from Acer. I have never needed it.

Leave a Reply

